Tsinghua University

The predecessor of Tsinghua University, Tsinghua School, was founded in 1911 and renamed Tsinghua College in 1912. In 1928, it was renamed National Tsinghua University. After the outbreak of the Anti-Japanese War in 1937, it moved southward to Changsha and formed the National Changsha Provisional University with Peking University and Nankai University, in 1938, moved to Kunming and changed its name to the National Southwest United University. In 1946, it moved back to Tsinghua Garden, with 5 colleges of Arts, Law, Science, Industry and Agriculture and 26 departments.

After the adjustment of colleges and departments among Institutions of Higher Learning throughout China in 1952, Tsinghua University became a multi-disciplinary university of technology, focusing on the training of engineering and technical personnel for the country, known as the "cradle of red engineers". Since the reform and opening up, Tsinghua University has gradually established the long-term goal of building a world-class university and entered a new period of vigorous development. The University has restored or built new disciplines in Science, Economics, Management and Liberal arts, and established graduate schools and continuing education colleges. In 1999, the Academy of Fine Arts of Tsinghua University was established with the Central Academy of Arts and Crafts.

In 2012, the former Graduate Department of the People's Bank of China was merged, establishing Wudaokou Finance College of Tsinghua University. With the strong support of the state and society, Tsinghua University has made remarkable progress in personnel training, scientific research, social services, cultural inheritance and innovation, and international cooperation and exchanges etc. through the implementation of "211 Project", "985 Project" and "double first-class" construction. At present, Tsinghua University has 20 colleges and 57 departments, becoming a comprehensive research university with 11 disciplines categories including Science, Engineering, Literature, Art, History, Philosophy, Economics, Management, Law, Pedagogy and Medicine.

PREV: Hanwei Electronics Group Corporation

NEXT: Synergy Research Club